Favorite Music of 2016 (So Far)

Where has this year gone!? It’s hard to believe that this crazy year is already halfway done! I always enjoy doing a recap of my favorite movies, music, and TV shows of the year so far when July comes around. For me, this has been a pretty mixed bag so far for music. While some bands have surprised me with some impressive albums, the bands I expected more from sort of let me down. Nevertheless, there is still plenty of good to talk about in the music world and here are my five favorite albums (in no particular order) to be released this year so far!

Death Of A Bachelor – Panic! At the Disco

Panic At The Disco

Brendon Urie pretty much solidified with this album that he’s a mad musical genius. Not only that, but the man can sing like no other! I was always a moderate Panic! At the Disco fan, but Death of a Bachelor blew me away. It’s one of those rare albums where there’s not a bad song on it, it’s just one long pop rock party from the beginning of Victorious to the end of “Impossible Year.” It’s one party that you do not want to miss that’s for sure. Favorite Tracks: “Hallelujah,” “Emperor’s New Clothes,” “Victorious,” & “Death Of A Bachelor”

Metal Resistance – Babymetal

Babymetal

If you went back in time and told me that I was going to love the new Babymetal album, I’d say you were absolutely out of your mind. I used to be the biggest hater of this Japanese trio. They just didn’t make sense to me; J-pop and metal mixed together? Insanity. However, when the new album came out, I was in a music drought looking for anything new to keep my ears happy so I gave this album a listen. Then the band clicked for me. Metal Resistance is an awesome blend of two genres that shouldn’t mesh. I couldn’t possibly tell you what the songs are about, but I can say that this is some of the most impressive sounding metal music to come out this year so far. The band features some really talented musicians and I’ve come to appreciate that Babymetal has come to be sort of a gateway drug for people getting into metal. Anything that’ll help the genre crawl out of the shadows is OK in my book! Favorite Tracks: “Awadama Fever,” “KARATE,” & “YAVA!”

Feathers & Flesh – Avatar

Feathers and Flesh

Avatar was another one of the bands that I never really listened to until this year. I always saw Avatar on tours with other bands I liked, but I never really gave them a listen. When I heard they were releasing an album this year I gave them a shot and they really impressed me. Impressed me to the point I bought three of their albums. What I appreciate most about Avatar and this album in particular is how the band is constantly evolving and trying out new sounds. Every song on this album sounds completely unique and it all comes together to form one grand story. The album also gets bonus points for having a hilariously weird and creepy cover of “I’ve Got Something In My Front Pocket For You.” Favorite Tracks: “The Eagle Has Landed,” “Tooth, Beak, and Claw,” & “Fiddler’s Farewell”

Never Alone – Stitched Up Heart 

Never Alone

I’m looking for new albums literally all the time. If I’m online and I read something about a new band, you can bet that I’m going to check it out. The best new band that I’ve found this year has to be Stitched Up Heart. Their debut studio album is chock full of memorable tracks all showcasing the vocalist Mixi’s pipes. The band reminds me a lot of Evanescence lyrically but Stitched Up Heart is definitely more hopeful sounding. The band has already built a pretty impressive following having only released one full length album so hopefully they can carry that momentum further as they release more music! Favorite Tracks: “Finally Free,” “Monster,”Turn You On,” & “Event Horizon”

Seal the Deal & Let’s Boogie – Volbeat

Seal The Deal and Lets Boogie

Volbeat is undoubtedly one of the most consistent bands in rock n roll right now. They really haven’t released a bad album yet and Seal the Deal & Let’s Boogie just might be one of their best works yet! This album features some of their catchiest choruses yet, and the title track along with “The Devil’s Bleeding Crown” are destined to become concert regulars! I mean, the album has a love song that’s riddled with basketball puns. If that doesn’t make you want to give this album a listen then I don’t know what will. As of now, Volbeat holds the title of favorite album of 2016. You’re doing yourself a disservice if you pass this one up! Favorite Tracks: “The Devil’s Bleeding Crown,” “The Bliss,” “Let It Burn,” “Battleship Chains,” and “Goodbye Forever” (basically the entire album)

Those aren’t the only bands though that released good music so far this year! Here’s a list of 25 other songs you need in your life!

  1. “Fake Your Own Death” – Sum 41
  2. “Rabbit Hole” – blink-182
  3. “Bored to Death” – blink-182
  4. “We Don’t Have To Dance” – Andy Black
  5. “The Rambler” – Black Stone Cherry
  6. “Cheaper To Drink Alone – “Black Stone Cherry
  7. “Paranoia” – A Day To Remember
  8. “Prayers / Triangles” – Deftones
  9. “Bad Guy” – Islander
  10. “Take It From Me” – KONGOS
  11. “Impossible” – Lacey Sturm
  12. “Is There Anybody Out There?” – Machine Head
  13. “You Don’t Get Me High Anymore” = Phantogram
  14. “Dark Necessities” – Red Hot Chili Peppers
  15. “Satanic Cyanide! The Killer Rocks On!” – Rob Zombie
  16. “Stick To Your Guns” – Sick Puppies
  17. “Earth To You” – Sick Puppies
  18. “Rise” – Sixx: AM
  19. “You Have Come To The Right Place” – Sixx: AM
  20. “Prayers For The Damned” – Sixx: AM
  21. “Spirits” – The Strumbellas
  22. “Running With Giants” – Thousand Foot Krutch
  23. “My Last Mistake” – Tremonti
  24. “Catching Fire” – Tremonti
  25. “Take Control” – Unlocking The Truth

Those are just my picks of course! What’re some of your favorite songs and albums to come out so far this year? What’re you most looking forward to in the months to come? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a comment